There are upcoming maintenance events which may impact our services. Learn more

How do I roll back to an Autosave? Print

  • Factorio
  • 0

The game Factorio has an automatic save system, that will store snapshots of your game progress on your server. Older autosaves are overwritten continuously as you play, and it cycles repeatedly through the autosave slots.

It is possible to copy one of the autosaves, rename it, and replace the main world to save with it. This would allow you to "roll back" your server if you desired.

Location of Autosaves

On a server, the autosaves are normally stored in the saves folder. Files are named _autosave1.zip, _autosave2.zip, etc,

Changing Autosave Settings

The number of autosaves slots that it uses, and how often it makes them, are controlled by three settings:

  • Autosave interval is the number of minutes between saves.

  • Autosave slots is how many separate autosave files it keeps at one time, and combined with Autosave interval above will sort of determines how far back in real-world time your autosaves go

These settings can be changed directly from the AleForge control panel, on the "Startup" tab.

Restoring an Autosave

We highly recommend before making any major changes to your server, that you stop the server and back a complete file backup using the backups tab on our control panel. Though something might have happened in your game that was so bad you want to rollback the whole server, it's sometimes possible to make a bad situation worse. Having a backup to undo all the changes is a great thing; real lifesaver sometimes.

Find the _autosave.zip file you wish to restore to, and copy the file to another location on the server, or download it to your local computer. Rename the _autosave.zip file to exactly match your current game world name, keeping the .zip extender as is.

Upload or move the file to the root folder on your server. it will overwrite the current game world zip, since the names are the same. If you want to keep the original world save, either rename it first, or download a copy of the file.

Restart the Server

If everything has been done right, when you restart the server next time, it will load the newly renamed _autosave.zip as your world file. If it wasn't the correct point at which you wanted to rollback, repeat the process with one of the other_autosaves.zip until you find the correct point.


Was this answer helpful?

« Back
Login Sign Up